Fairfield County's Premiere Children's Theatre Group
Welcome Guest. | Sign Up | Log In      Support: (203) 847-4850

Registration Page

Registration will not be complete until you click the Register button after you Login or Sign Up below.

Class Details

Class Name: Gilbert & Sullivan's Iolanthe:Mondays 7:00pm - 9:30pm/Saturdays 11am - 3pm
Number of Slots: 25
Openings: 21
Description:

8th grade - College (Before Registering, Please Update Your Child's Grade Level)

  • NOTE REHEARSAL SCHEDULE BELOW: Rehearsals begin on Mondays and then switch to Saturdays. PLEASE READ SCHEDULE BELOW CAREFULLY!

  • Classes and Performances take place at the Ben Franklin Theatre 66 Bayview Ave. Norwalk, CT 06854.

  • Please only park in our parking lots on Bayview Ave. and Hillside St. Enter through the theatre doors.

  • NO Parking in the lot off of Flax Hill Rd. Thank you in advance.

  • 2 Performances:
  • Friday, May 25, 2018 at 7:30pm

  • Saturday, May 26, 2018 at 7:30pm

  • The students from "Iolanthe" will also be performing at Crystal Theatre's annual Matthew Chiappetta Memorial Concert on Monday, March 12, 2018 at 7:00pm.

  • Rehearsal for the Matthew Chiappetta Memorial Concert will be on Sunday, March 11, 2018 from 12:00pm - 3:30pm

Iolanthe is a comic opera with music by Arthur Sullivan and libretto by W. S. Gilbert. It is one of the Savoy operas and is the seventh of fourteen operatic collaborations by Gilbert and Sullivan.

In the opera, the fairy Iolanthe has been banished from fairyland because she married a mortal; this is forbidden by fairy law. Her son, Strephon, is an Arcadian shepherd who wants to marry Phyllis, a Ward of Chancery. All the members of the House of Peers also want to marry Phyllis. When Phyllis sees Strephon hugging a young woman (not knowing that it is his mother – immortal fairies all appear young), she assumes the worst and sets off a climactic confrontation between the peers and the fairies.

The opera satirizes many aspects of British government, law and society. The confrontation between the fairies and the peers is a version of one of Gilbert's favorite themes: a tranquil civilization of women is disrupted by a male-dominated world through the discovery of mortal love.

Directed by Joe Santaniello and choreographed by Jessica Rae Foulds. Recommended for strong singers!



Class Schedule:
01/29/18 - 05/24/18
Mon 07:00 PM - 09:30 PM

Additional Information:

IOLANTHE FULL REHEARSAL SCHEDULE

    *PLEASE NOTE THAT REHEARSALS BEGIN ON MONDAYS AND THEN MOVE TO SATURDAYS! REHEARSAL TIMES VARY. PLEASE READ CAREFULLY!*

  • Monday, January 29, 2018 7:00pm - 9:30pm

  • Monday, February 5, 2018 7:00pm - 9:30pm

  • Monday, February 12, 2018 7:00pm - 9:30pm

  • Monday, February 19, 2018 7:00pm - 9:30pm

  • Monday, February 26, 2018 7:00pm - 9:30pm

  • Monday, March 5, 2018 7:00pm - 9:30pm

  • Mandatory Matthew Chiappetta Memorial Concert Rehearsal: Sunday, March 11, 2018 12:00pm - 3:30pm

  • Matthew Chiappetta Memorial Concert:Monday, March 12, 2018 Performers arrive at 6:00pm, Concert starts at 7:00pm

  • Tuesday, March 13, 2018 7:00pm - 9:30pm

  • Saturday, March 17, 2018 11:00am - 3:00pm

  • Saturday, March 24, 2018 11:00am - 3:00pm

  • Saturday, March 31, 2018 11:00am - 3:00pm

  • Saturday, April 7, 2018 11:00am - 3:00pm

  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 11:00am - 3:00pm

  • Saturday, April 21, 2018 4:30pm - 8:30pm

  • Saturday, April 28, 2018 10:00am - 1:00pm

  • Saturday, May 5, 2018 11:00am - 3:00pm

  • Friday, May 11, 2018 5:00pm - 9:30pm

  • NO CLASS ON SATURDAY, MAY 12, 2018

  • Mandatory Tech/Dress Rehearsal: Saturday, May 19, 2018 10:00am - 4:00pm

  • Mandatory Dress Rehearsal: Wednesday, May 23, 2018 4:30pm - 9:00pm

  • Mandatory Dress Rehearsal: Thursday, May 24, 2018 4:30pm - 9:30pm

  • Shows: Friday, May 25, 2018 at 7:30pm & Saturday, May 26, 2018 at 7:30pm

Eligible Categories:
   10th Grade
   11th Grade
   12th Grade
   8th Grade
   9th Grade
   College Student

Total Cost = $350.00 for 21 Meetings

Begin Registration: Login or Create Account

Existing Users   |    New Users

Recover Password

Session Schedule

Date Times Location
Monday January 29, 2018 07:00 PM - 09:30 PM TBA
Monday February 05, 2018 07:00 PM - 09:30 PM TBA
Monday February 12, 2018 07:00 PM - 09:30 PM TBA
Monday February 19, 2018 07:00 PM - 09:30 PM TBA
Monday February 26, 2018 07:00 PM - 09:30 PM TBA
Monday March 05, 2018 07:00 PM - 09:30 PM TBA
Sunday March 11, 2018 12:00 PM - 03:30 PM Ben Franklin:Ben Franklin: Bayview Ave. Norwalk, CT
Monday March 12, 2018 06:00 PM - 08:30 PM Ben Franklin:Ben Franklin: Bayview Ave. Norwalk, CT
Tuesday March 13, 2018 07:00 PM - 09:30 PM TBA
Saturday March 17, 2018 11:00 AM - 03:00 PM TBA
Saturday March 24, 2018 11:00 AM - 03:00 PM TBA
Saturday March 31, 2018 11:00 AM - 03:00 PM TBA
Saturday April 07, 2018 11:00 AM - 03:00 PM TBA
Saturday April 14, 2018 11:00 AM - 03:00 PM TBA
Saturday April 21, 2018 04:30 PM - 08:30 PM TBA
Saturday April 28, 2018 10:00 AM - 01:00 PM TBA
Saturday May 05, 2018 11:00 AM - 03:00 PM TBA
Friday May 11, 2018 05:00 PM - 09:30 PM TBA
Saturday May 19, 2018 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM TBA
Wednesday May 23, 2018 04:30 PM - 09:00 PM TBA
Thursday May 24, 2018 04:30 PM - 09:30 PM TBA

Changed your mind?
Choose another class below!

CTOnline
User Links